Unwrap a Book this Season

05 Dec 2023

Gift ideas for the readers in your life

1964: Eyes of the Storm by Paul McCartney

When Beatlemania took hold in the early 1960s, the Fab Four were probably the most-photographed people on the planet.  Who knew that Paul McCartney was himself a dab hand at photography and was busy pointing his lens back in the other direction the whole time the group was in the spotlight? 1964: Eyes of the Storm offers a generous selection of his photos taken amid the excitement and chaos of the group’s rise to fame. We see not only the frenzied fans in London, Paris, New York, Miami, and other locales but also candid scenes of the lads rehearsing, relaxing, and clowning around in hotel rooms. The selection of prints McCartney chose for this collection also demonstrates his keen interest in the everyday details of life in the cities the band visited. His foreword and running commentary are a pleasure to read, as is a thoughtful introduction by New Yorker writer Jill Lepore. This beautifully designed coffee-table book would make a great holiday gift for anyone with an interest in the Beatles or that memorable era in general. –Bland Lawson

 

We Could Be So Good by Cat Sebastian

This historical romance is perfect for readers who enjoy a friends-to-lovers story and midcentury Manhattan vibes. Brooklyn-born Nick Russo fought tooth and nail for his position as a reporter with one of NYC’s biggest newspapers and is exasperated when the boss’s incompetent son, Andy, begins working in the newsroom. To his utter surprise, Nick finds Andy’s bumbling, air-headed antics charming, and the two develop a close friendship. Nick is dismayed when he realizes his feelings for his friend have become something deeper – Andy couldn’t possibly feel the same way, could he? Cat Sebastian is at her best here in this sweet, slow-burn romance, delivering characters that are fully fleshed out and wonderfully endearing, and the window into the experience of a closeted gay man living in the 1950s is especially timely. This would make a great gift for readers who love a good love story! – Sarah Cameron

 

Witch of Wild Things by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland

The Flores sisters come from a family of women with magical powers. Sage commands plants, her sisters, the weather, sky, animals. Their grandmother can see ghosts. After a tragic accident tears their family apart, Sage returns years later hoping to reconcile with her sisters. There’s an appreciation of the natural world, especially plants, a little bit of magic, a little bit of romance and a lot of drama in this family saga. For fans of Black Candle Women and The Enchanted Hacienda, this would make a great gift for someone who’s looking for a new author and loves books about family, friendship, and falling in love. –Megan Mathis

 

Zero Days by Ruth Ware

Hired by companies to test their vulnerabilities, Jack and her husband are elite hackers with an enviable personal and professional partnership. Everything changes when Jack discovers that her husband has been murdered and she’s the prime suspect. But Jack is strong, smart, and determined to clear her name. She knows she must use her skills and instincts to find out who killed her husband and why, evading the police—all while staying clear of his killer. There are constant surprises, secrets uncovered and dangers to avoid. An original spin on a locked-room mystery, Ware’s latest is well-written, fast-paced, and exciting. This would make a great gift for fans of propulsive, technology-driven mysteries that keep you guessing until the end. –Adele Chase

 

Prev Post Boulder Events Dec/Jan 2024
Next Post Power to the Pen!
Wild Animal Sanctuary